Free delivery on all orders over £10
Schools can pay by invoice by setting up an account at checkout.
Accidental Trouble Magnet

Planet Omar: Accidental Trouble Magnet Book 1

Published: 18 Apr 2019

Paperback / softback, 224 pages

Recommended for age 7+ and 9+

By Zanib Mian

Illustrated by Nasaya Mafaridik

Published by Hachette Children's Group

Regular price
£5.17
Sale price
£5.17
Regular price
RRP £6.99
Unit price
per 

Welcome, readers, to the imaginative brain of Omar! You might not know me yet, but once you open the pages of this book you'll laugh so hard that snot will come out of your nose (plus you might meet a dragon and a zombie - what more could you want?). My parents decided it would be a good idea to move house AND move me to a new school at the same time. As if I didn't have a hard enough time staying out of trouble at home, now I've also got to try and make new friends.

What's worse, the class bully seems to think I'm the perfect target. At least Eid's around the corner which means a feast (YAY) and presents (DOUBLE YAY). Well, as long as I can stay in Mum and Dad's good books long enough...

The combination of Zanib Mian's hilarious text and Nasaya Mafaridik's fantastic cartoon-style illustrations make the PLANET OMAR series perfect for fans of Tom Gates and Wimpy Kid.  Previously published as 'THE MUSLIMS', this was the winner of the Little Rebels Award in June 2018.

The text has been revised, expanded with new scenes and re-illustrated.

This title features in our The Reading Journey selection.

Tagged Pakistan

The Omar series

Planet Omar: Epic Hero Flop : Book 4
Planet Omar: Accidental Trouble Magnet Book 1
Planet Omar: Incredible Rescue Mission Book 3

Reviewed by Jo Bowers

Planet Omar, Accidental Trouble Magnet centres on a Muslim family who have recently moved house in London. It is told through the voice of Omar as he starts a new school and makes new friends.

Omar, his 13-year-old older sister Maryam and three-year-old younger brother Esa have moved as his mum and dad are both scientists, and his mum has just taken a new dream job working in cancer research. The story takes us through Omar’s nervousness starting a new school, his family settling in and getting to know their new neighbour. All this is told in a thoroughly entertaining and humorous way as Omar is a wonderful character. The illustrated pages capture Omar’s humour and personality, and there are some great different fonts used for words and phrases throughout that bring the story to life.

This would be a great whole class read and could be read aloud purely for enjoyment as it is such a good story, and Omar is a lot of fun as the main character. Each chapter also offers up many opportunities for discussion too, so there is depth for teachers to have discussions around the situations Omar finds himself and different aspects of the Muslim faith that come up incidentally within the storyline and are explained so simply and naturally through Omar too. There are also many opportunities to discuss feelings and empathise with Omar as the situations he finds himself in throughout the book are very believable, authentic situations that many children will relate to.

 

Jo Bowers is a Principal Lecturer in Primary Education (Literacy) at Cardiff Metropolitan University. She joined the university ten years ago and prior to that was a classroom teacher and English leader in a primary school for nineteen years. Jo has been editor of, and currently sits on the Editorial Board of English 4-11 for the English Association and the UKLA Publications Committee. Jo runs an Open University Reading for Pleasure Teacher Group for teachers in Cardiff and sits on various shortlisting and selection panels for children's book awards, currently the English Association Picture Book Award and the Books Council of Wales Tir na n-Og Award. Jo is a Wales representative for UKLA, reviews books for Just Imagine and writes for English 4-11. She is passionate about children's literature and is happiest when she is reading and surrounded by books.

The BAME authors set

  • Tamarind & the Star of Ishta
    Tamarind and the Star of Ishta

    9+ 11+

    Regular price
    £5.17
    Sale price
    £5.17
    Regular price
    RRP £6.99
    Unit price
    per 
  • The Proudest Blue
    The Proudest Blue

    5+ 7+

    Regular price
    £5.90
    Sale price
    £5.90
    Regular price
    RRP £7.99
    Unit price
    per 
  • Hey You!
    Hey You!

    5+ 7+

    Regular price
    £5.90
    Sale price
    £5.90
    Regular price
    RRP £7.99
    Unit price
    per 
  • Stars With Flaming Tails Poems
    Stars with Flaming Tails

    5+ 7+

    Regular price
    £5.90
    Sale price
    £5.90
    Regular price
    RRP £7.99
    Unit price
    per 
  • Rumaysa: A Fairytale
    Rumaysa

    7+

    Regular price
    £5.17
    Sale price
    £5.17
    Regular price
    RRP £6.99
    Unit price
    per