Free delivery on all orders over £10
Schools can pay by invoice by setting up an account at checkout.
Start a wish list for your school or nursery.
Accidental Trouble Magnet

Planet Omar: Accidental Trouble Magnet#1

Published: 18 Apr 2019

Paperback / softback, 224 pages

Recommended for age 7+ and 9+

By Zanib Mian

Illustrated by Nasaya Mafaridik

Published by Hachette Children's Group

Regular price
£5.17
Sale price
£5.17
Regular price
RRP £6.99
Unit price
per 

Welcome, readers, to the imaginative brain of Omar! You might not know me yet, but once you open the pages of this book you'll laugh so hard that snot will come out of your nose (plus you might meet a dragon and a zombie - what more could you want?). My parents decided it would be a good idea to move house AND move me to a new school at the same time. As if I didn't have a hard enough time staying out of trouble at home, now I've also got to try and make new friends.

What's worse, the class bully seems to think I'm the perfect target. At least Eid's around the corner which means a feast (YAY) and presents (DOUBLE YAY). Well, as long as I can stay in Mum and Dad's good books long enough...

The combination of Zanib Mian's hilarious text and Nasaya Mafaridik's fantastic cartoon-style illustrations make the PLANET OMAR series perfect for fans of Tom Gates and Wimpy Kid.  Previously published as 'THE MUSLIMS', this was the winner of the Little Rebels Award in June 2018.

The text has been revised, expanded with new scenes and re-illustrated.

Tagged Pakistan

The Omar series

Planet Omar: Accidental Trouble Magnet#1
Planet Omar: Epic Hero Flop : Book 4
Planet Omar: Incredible Rescue Mission Book 3

The Book Band Grey pack

Easy purchase - add our curated pack to your basket with one click

  • The Last Bear
  • Planet Omar: Accidental Trouble Magnet#1
  • How to Save the World with a Chicken and an Egg
  • Planet Omar: Epic Hero Flop : Book 4
  • Planet Omar: Incredible Rescue Mission Book 3
  • Public Enemy Number 2
  • Planet Omar: Unexpected Super Spy Book 2
  • The French Confection
  • South by South East
  • The Falcon's Malteser
  • The London Eye Mystery
  • The Great Cave
  • Sputnik's Guide to Life on Earth
  • The Unadoptables
  • Head Kid
  • The Person Controller
  • The Great Flood
  • Luna
  • Frost
  • Julius Zebra: Rumble with the Romans!
  • Framed
  • A Library of Lemons
  • The House at the Edge of Magic
  • The Lion Above the Door
  • The Impossible Boy
  • The Bolds
  • The Pirate's Eye : 2
  • Stitch Head : 1
  • Fabio the World's Greatest Flamingo Detective: Peril at Lizard Lake
  • The Tail of Emily Windsnap #1
  • Millions
  • The Legend of the Worst Boy in the World
  • Ottoline and the Purple Fox
  • Fabio The World's Greatest Flamingo Detective: The Case of the Missing Hippo
  • Fabio The World's Greatest Flamingo Detective: Mystery on the Ostrich Express
  • Emily Windsnap and the Light of the Midnight Sun #5
  • Emily Windsnap and the Siren;s Secret #4
  • Emily Windsnap and the Castle in the Mist
  • Emily Windsnap and the Monster from the Deep #2
  • Julius Zebra: Grapple with the Greeks
  • Julius Zebra: Bundle with the Britons
  • Because of Winn-Dixie
  • Esio Trot
  • The Demon Headmaster and the Prime Minister's Brain
  • The Demon Headmaster Strikes Again
  • Love That Dog
  • The Bolds to the Rescue
  • The Bolds Go Wild

The Reading Bug Y5 pack

Easy purchase - add our curated pack to your basket with one click

An easy purchase pack of books that have been selected to engage hard to reach readers in year 3. Selected by our experienced and qualified team of teachers, librarians and education consultants.

The Teachers Treasures Year 4 pack

Easy purchase - add our curated pack to your basket with one click

A collection of 20 classic books for year 4. These books have stood the test of time because they are well-loved by children, teachers, librarians and parents.

  • Journey
  • Planet Omar: Accidental Trouble Magnet#1
  • The Boy At the Back of the Class
  • The Language of Cat
  • The Miraculous Journey of Edward Tulane
  • Lob
  • Cliffhanger
  • Lizzie Dripping
  • Varjak Paw
  • Quick, Let's Get Out of Here
  • Street Child
  • Harry Miller's Run
  • Emil And The Detectives
  • The Terrible Thing That Happened to Barnaby Brocket
  • One Dog and His Boy
  • The Sheep-pig
  • I Was a Rat! Or, The Scarlet Slippers
  • The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe
  • The True Story of the Three Little Pigs

Reviewed by Jo Bowers

Planet Omar, Accidental Trouble Magnet centres on a Muslim family who have recently moved house in London. It is told through the voice of Omar as he starts a new school and makes new friends.

Omar, his 13-year-old older sister Maryam and three-year-old younger brother Esa have moved as his mum and dad are both scientists, and his mum has just taken a new dream job working in cancer research. The story takes us through Omar’s nervousness starting a new school, his family settling in and getting to know their new neighbour. All this is told in a thoroughly entertaining and humorous way as Omar is a wonderful character. The illustrated pages capture Omar’s humour and personality, and there are some great different fonts used for words and phrases throughout that bring the story to life.

This would be a great whole class read and could be read aloud purely for enjoyment as it is such a good story, and Omar is a lot of fun as the main character. Each chapter also offers up many opportunities for discussion too, so there is depth for teachers to have discussions around the situations Omar finds himself and different aspects of the Muslim faith that come up incidentally within the storyline and are explained so simply and naturally through Omar too. There are also many opportunities to discuss feelings and empathise with Omar as the situations he finds himself in throughout the book are very believable, authentic situations that many children will relate to.

 

Jo Bowers is a Principal Lecturer in Primary Education (Literacy) at Cardiff Metropolitan University. She joined the university ten years ago and prior to that was a classroom teacher and English leader in a primary school for nineteen years. Jo has been editor of, and currently sits on the Editorial Board of English 4-11 for the English Association and the UKLA Publications Committee. Jo runs an Open University Reading for Pleasure Teacher Group for teachers in Cardiff and sits on various shortlisting and selection panels for children's book awards, currently the English Association Picture Book Award and the Books Council of Wales Tir na n-Og Award. Jo is a Wales representative for UKLA, reviews books for Just Imagine and writes for English 4-11. She is passionate about children's literature and is happiest when she is reading and surrounded by books.

The BAME authors set