Free delivery on all orders over £10
Schools can pay by invoice by setting up an account at checkout.
Start a wish list for your school or nursery.

Collection: The Reading Journey

The Reading Journey is a collection of books selected to support Reading for Pleasure in junior classrooms and school libraries. It is designed to encourage adventurous reading choices.

Books are organised thematically, appealing to children through their reading and wider interests.

Children can also be encouraged to read from each of the themed lands to broaden their reading repertoires and discover new preferences by taking risks and trying something new.

The lands are well suited for themed display and structuring book talk. Ideas for this are provided through Reading Journey training. We advise maintaining your library using the usual alphabetic and Dewey system and then featuring different lands periodically as part of your ongoing programme of book promotion.

We recommend starting with a base 100 book collection with 10 books from each land for an average 2 form entry primary class.  For easy ordering, you might want to select our starter packs. There are two for each phase each with books from 10 different lands.

Once you have a base collection, top-up of new books from our highlighted new term collections.

Consider purchasing 2 or 3 copies of the most popular books to encourage peer to peer recommendation and book talk.

However, we have made it possible for you to select any books of your choice for the greatest flexibility.

Further information

If you would like any assistance in making selections, please contact us and we will be happy to help.

View the Lower Key Stage 2 Collection

View the Upper Key Stage 2 Collection